Delaware Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS)

Delaware’s Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) works to ‘improve the quality of life for Delaware’s citizens by prompting health and well-being, fostering self-sufficiency, and protecting vulnerable populations’.  There are 11 divisions within the Department including Medicaid and Medical Assistance, Developmental Disabilities Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health, and Prevention and Behavioral Health.  DHSS and its divisions offer a variety of services and supports for people with autism and their families.  Services offered and eligibility is different for each department.